Leadership at Buckley

The Board of Trustees of an independent school establishes policy and assesses institutional performance in accordance with the school's mission. The Board of Trustees is responsible for the academic and financial health of the institution, the selection of the headmaster, the physical plant, and long-range planning, holding in trust the school's present and its future.

Trustees are obligated to take an active role in supporting the school and the headmaster. Possessing a clear understanding and commitment to independent education, a trustee must be able to make decisions for the present and future of the entire school.

The Committee on Trustees of the Board proposes candidates for trusteeship of Buckley Country Day School after thorough examination of the needs of the School and the Board. The Committee on Trustees is responsible for incorporating a wide diversity of people and talents. Among vocations and areas of expertise that contribute to the overall strength of the Board are: business, legal and professional skills; communication, marketing and fund-raising experience; investment management; education and community involvement. Each trustee candidate must demonstrate commitment and service to the institution.

Trustees are elected for a term of three years and may serve consecutive terms in accordance with the by-laws of Buckley Country Day School. The Board of Trustees meets regularly during the school year.
Buckley Country Day School is incorporated and operated on a not-for-profit basis by an appointed Board of Trustees. It is chartered by the Board of Regents of the University of the State of New York. The School is accredited by the New York State Association of Independent Schools and is a member of the National Association of Independent Schools.

Board of Trustees

Allison Angelilli, M.D. ‘92
Joseph Camerata '02
Neil Cohen
John Crish
Michael Ferrucci
Karli E. F. Hagedorn ’74 (Trustee Emeritus)
Errin Hatwood, Ph.D.
Jason Hembrey
Jean-Marc Juhel, Ed.D. (Head of School)
Nick Lane
Christopher Lee (Chair)
Reshma McGowan
Shalini Mimani
Lasherelle Morgan
Lilyan Muran (Trustee Emeritus)
Timothy O’Sullivan
Sergio Ramirez
Heather Adler Schoen ‘92
Rebecca Shen
Paul Vambutas ‘82
Margaret Walsh
Laurie Zephyrin-Osayimwese, M.D.

Buckley Country Day School

P: 516 627 1910 
Buckley Country Day School admits students of any race, color, ethnicity, national origin, ancestry, religion, sex, gender identity, gender expression, or sexual orientation to all the rights, privileges, programs, and activities generally available to students at the School. Buckley Country Day School does not discriminate on the basis of race, color, ethnicity, national origin, ancestry, religion, sex, gender identity, gender expression, sexual orientation, age, disability, veteran status, marital status, or any other characteristic protected by law in respect of, without limitation, its educational policies, admission, financial aid, hiring and employment practices, use of school facilities, athletics programs, and other school-administered programs. This policy governs the conduct of all Buckley Country Day School employees including faculty, staff, and summer programs employees.